Course Description and Objectives

Course Descriptions:

  1.  I now understand the fundamental terms, concepts, and designs characteristic of both quantitative and qualitative educational research.  I do not have the intention of conducting formal research in my professional career but learning the differences in quantitative and qualitative research studies will help me interpret research findings and how they can benefit my continued knowledge in the special education field.
  2. I can now design my own research study.  This has been difficult but has definitely given me a new respect for what goes into the data that we use to interpret what we need to do to best educate students.  Otherwise, I will not be designing research in my professional career; it takes too long just to think of a GOOD question to even get started!!!!
  3. I can critically evaluate published research articles in an effort to encourage data-driven reflection.  This has been helpful in learning what is “crap” research and what is a real journal article.  I have obviously known that everything on the internet is not “real” but learning the difference in peer reviewed journals has been helpful.  I now know what to look for when researching a specific topic for work, such as looking up research on a specific disorder or diagnosis that would help educate me on how to better serve the children I work with.  I don’t know that I’ll ever be a data-driven reflector? Trial and error right?!
  4. I can now evaluate the methodological procedures that an author followed, the results that were reported, and the practical significance of the study.  This has taught me that a whole LOT goes into research in general.  For future course work that requires me to interpret studies, I will now be able to do so quickly.  Being able to break down an article has helped me understand the general idea and what the purpose is in general.  I will probably be more likely to read journal articles now that I know how to “pick” through them (no offense researchers) in order to figure out if they are relevant to what I am looking for.
  5. I have the ability to comprehend common research designs, methods, and procedures.  I can now recognize the differences in qualitative research studies and quantitative research studies.  I did not realize they were so different.  I also now know that qualitative research is more interesting to me and would apply more to my profession (observational in nature).
  6.  I have the ability to communicate the research results clearly, concisely, logically and in a coherent manner.  This will help me professionally because I can discuss past research findings and how something could benefit a student now (if something worked for a group of children it might work for another group of children)
  7. I can read and critically evaluate scholarly journal articles.  Again, this has helped me learn to weed through nonsense articles that are more opinion based than research based.  Articles are beneficial to my professional development because new information about child development is always helpful in learning different ways to teach.
  8. I can design my own research investigations.  I can, but probably won’t continue to do this.  I will admit that I’m a huge Google fan when I need to look up something I don’t know about, but as far as designing my own research investigations, literally, I probably won’t do that professionally, aside from discussing things with affiliates and accessing common educational resources.  Perhaps I’ll have another class that will require it J

Course Objective:

  1.  I have had to review articles in past classes; knowing all of the differences in qualitative/quantitative research would have been helpful in more clearly interpreting the purpose and procedures and why each was chosen.  I’m sure I will be able to use this knowledge in future classes.
  2. I may use this knowledge in future classes but do not think I will have a need to know this in my professional career.
  3. I can apply this to everyday life as well as educationally and professionally.  We are always trying to find averages and correlations at work.  For example, it is helpful to know what the average number of children in Richmond City receive speech therapy services on an ongoing basis so that we are sure that we have enough staffing to accommodate the need (more speech delayed kiddos=need more SLP’s =try to stay ahead of the game…..TRY).
  4. This applies a lot to my job because we work with families and organizations and frequently have to release information between people involved with the families.  We have to ensure that consent is obtained in order to remain ethical.  It would also be unethical for me to witness child abuse and not report it to the proper authorities.
  5. I can now find the hypothesis in a study more easily but I do not see myself applying this to my career.  I’m sure I will need this knowledge again for future coursework. 
  6. This is helpful in educating myself on specific topics.  Now that I have access to the database for journal articles through VCU, I frequently look into articles that pertain to diagnosis and research regarding that diagnosis for work (now when I have a kiddo on my caseload that has a diagnosis that I am not familiar with or what that kiddo would benefit best from, I research successes found for those children before, such as children with CMV and the prevalence of hearing loss/likelihood of eventual deafness and proactive resources to encourage language development)(I looked that one up recently).  Who would have thought I’d look at literature instead of Google! J
  7. I might have to write another literature review for school but doubt that the need will arise with work.  Doing this is difficult.
  8. AAAHHH!  I will be honest and say that I hope I do not have to complete another research proposal.  I may participate in research studies but will probably not do my own.  Research is great and we need it; it just probably won’t come from me!

One Response to “Course Description and Objectives”

  1. Susanne Says:

    We only become “data-driven reflectors” through trial and error! (Mostly error.)

    You know, I feel the same way about research studies–I’m always offering to help others because being the lead is such a heavy responsibility! 🙂 But, with grant funded proposals being such a part of our lives in education these days, you (like me) may change your mind when something really grabs you. I hope it does! 🙂

Leave a comment